

# **Educational Service Unit 2**

December 21, 2015 1:00 p.m. FREMONT

MEMBERS	Present	Absent	OTHERS	Present	Absent
VERN GIBSON	$\boxtimes$		Dr. Ted DeTurk, Administrator	$\boxtimes$	
DEAN CHASE		$\boxtimes$	Conny Dunn, Treasurer	$\boxtimes$	
HARLAN SCHRIEBER	$\boxtimes$		Dee Wasenius, Recording Secretary	$\boxtimes$	
WAYNE ERICKSON	$\boxtimes$				
ED RASTOVSKI	$\boxtimes$				
RICH MCGILL	$\boxtimes$				
LOUISE NABB	$\boxtimes$				
GEORGE ROBERTSON	$\boxtimes$				

A MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATIONAL SERVICE UNIT #2 WAS CONVENED IN OPEN AND PUBLIC SESSION ON MONDAY, DECEMBER 21, 2015 AT 1:00 P.M. AT THE ESU #2 OFFICE IN FREMONT, NE.

Notice of the meeting was given in advance by publication and/or posting in accordance with the Board approved method for giving notice of meetings. Notice of this meeting was given in advance to all members of the Board of Education. The Secretary of the Board maintains a list of the news media requesting notification of meetings and advance notification to the listed media of the time and place of the meeting and the subjects to be discussed at this meeting was provided. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the publicized notice and a current copy of the Agenda was maintained as stated in the publicized notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

The Board President called the meeting to order at 1:04 p.m.

#### ANNOUNCEMENT OF OPEN MEETINGS ACT POSTING

At the beginning of this meeting, the acting President announced and informed the public that a current copy of the Open Meetings Act is posted in the Meeting Room

## **ROLL CALL WAS TAKEN:**

## **CONSENT AGENDA:**

It was moved by Robertson and seconded by Erickson to approve the consent agenda which included: the agenda for the current meeting, minutes of the November 16, 2015 Regular Board Meeting, approve the absence of Board Member Dean Chase and accept the Treasurer's Report which included a monthly bank balance, payroll and bills. After discussion and on roll call vote, the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Gibson, Schrieber, Erickson, McGill, Nabb, Rastovski and Robertson

Voting against: None Not Voting: None Motion carried (7-0)

### **ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION ITEMS:**

**Board Items:** Affirmations were received from Vern, Wayne, Louise and George for filing for re-election. An overview was given by Ted in regards to the AESA National Conference that he and Dean attended. Ted also gave a recap of the NASB State Conference.

## Staff Items:

**Negotiations:** There has been no response from the negotiations committee.

Facility Items: Carpet installation has been completed

Student Services: Jody Phillips, Jodie Sams and Kristi Arlt have been busy going out to schools for visits.

**Professional Development:** All members have been out in the districts on a regular basis. The upcoming year will be bringing some big name presenters.

#### **ACTION ITEMS:**

#### PERSONNEL:

It was moved by Robertson and seconded by Schrieber to approve the recommended personnel changes with including the hiring of Joe Peitmeier for a new position as Grant Coordinator/Tech Department Assistant and the retirement of Sandi Landholm. After discussion and on roll call vote the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Gibson, Schrieber, Erickson, McGill, Nabb, Rastovski and Robertson

Voting against: none Not voting: none Motion carried (7-0)

**EXECUTIVE SESSION:** It was moved by Erickson and seconded by Schrieber to go into Executive Session at 1:44 P.M. to discuss the Administrator's contract/evaluation and to discuss staff negotiations. After discussion and on roll call vote the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Gibson, Schrieber, Erickson, McGill, Nabb, Rastovski and Robertson

Voting against: none Not voting: none Motion carried (7-0)

**CLOSE EXECUTIVE SESSION:** It was moved by Robertson and seconded by Nabb to close the executive session at 2:12 P.M. After discussion and on roll call vote the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Gibson, Schrieber, Erickson, McGill, Nabb, Rastovski and Robertson

Voting against: none Not voting: none Motion carried (7-0)

**ADMINISTRATOR CONTRACT:** It was moved by Robertson and seconded by Schrieber that the Board approve the extension of Dr. Ted DeTurk's contract for the 2016-2017 year. After discussion and on roll call vote the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Gibson, Schrieber, Erickson, McGill, Nabb, Rastovski and Robertson

Voting against: none Not voting: none Motion carried (7-0)

#### **ADJORNNMENT:**

Board President adjourned the meeting at 2:20 p.m.

Next Regular Board meeting to be held Monday, January 18, 2016 at 1:00 p.m. at ESU 2, Fremont Nebraska.

Secretary