

Educational Service Unit 2

April 20, 2015 1:00 p.m. FREMONT

MEMBERS	Present	Absent	OTHERS	Present	Absent
VERN GIBSON		\boxtimes	Dr. Ted DeTurk, Administrator	\boxtimes	
DEAN CHASE	\boxtimes		Conny Dunn, Treasurer	\boxtimes	
HARLAN SCHRIEBER	\boxtimes		Dee Wasenius, Recording Secretary	\boxtimes	
RON BRIGGS	\boxtimes				
ED RASTOVSKI		\boxtimes			
RICH MCGILL	\boxtimes				
LOUISE NABB	\boxtimes				
GEORGE ROBERTSON	\boxtimes				

A MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATIONAL SERVICE UNIT #2 WAS CONVENED IN OPEN AND PUBLIC SESSION ON MONDAY, APRIL 20, 2015 AT 1:00 P.M. AT THE ESU #2 OFFICE IN FREMONT, NE.

Notice of the meeting was given in advance by publication and/or posting in accordance with the Board approved method for giving notice of meetings. Notice of this meeting was given in advance to all members of the Board of Education. The Secretary of the Board maintains a list of the news media requesting notification of meetings and advance notification to the listed media of the time and place of the meeting and the subjects to be discussed at this meeting was provided. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the publicized notice and a current copy of the Agenda was maintained as stated in the publicized notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

The Vice President called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m.

ANNOUNCEMENT OF OPEN MEETINGS ACT POSTING

At the beginning of this meeting, the Vice President announced and informed the public that a current copy of the Open Meetings Act is posted in the Meeting Room

ROLL CALL WAS TAKEN

CONSENT AGENDA:

It was moved by McGill and seconded by Robertson to approve the consent agenda which included: the agenda for the current meeting, minutes of the March 16, 2015 Regular Board Meeting, approve the absence of Vern Gibson and Ed Rastovski and accept the Treasurer's Report which included a monthly bank balance, payroll and bills. After discussion and on roll call vote, the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Chase, Schrieber, Briggs, McGill, Nabb and Robertson

Voting against: None Not Voting: None Motion carried (6-0)

ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION ITEMS:

Board Items: Ted gave a follow up on the GRIT Conference that he and Ed had attended; NASB Achievement Award Points were discussed, and the proposed core dollars for 2015-16 and the memo of understanding between NDE and ESUCC were presented

Staff Items: Andy Boell has joined the Technology Team as of April 1 and things are going quite well. He has been visiting area schools with Mike.

Facility Items: Working with Garland Roofing and quotes to fix leaks in the roof have been received. Also the ESU is exploring the option and getting quotes to replace the carpet which is 20 years old.

ACTION ITEMS:

Appointment of Open Board Member Seat:

It was moved by Robertson and seconded by McGill to appoint Wayne Erickson to the open Board seat. After discussion and on roll call vote, the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Chase, Schrieber, Briggs McGill, Nabb and Robertson

Voting against: none Not voting: none Motion carried (6-0)

Policies 4245, 4520, 4620 and 4700:

It was moved by Robertson and seconded by Schrieber to approve Policies 4245, 4520, 4620 and 4700. After discussion and on roll call vote, the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Chase Schrieber, Briggs, McGill, Nabb and Robertson

Voting against: none Not voting: none Motion carried (6-0)

New Positions:

It was moved by Briggs and seconded by Nabb to approve the new positions of Paraprofessional and Secretary/Paraprofessional for the Independent School. After discussion and on roll call vote, the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Chase Schrieber, Briggs, McGill, Nabb and Robertson

Voting against: none Not voting: none Motion carried (6-0)

Personnel:

It was moved by Robertson and seconded Nabb to accept the following personnel changes:

Resignations: Rebecca Winterfeld, Elyse Moore, Carly Fowler, Josh Prokopec and Stephanie Scheer.

New Hires: Jorge Pla', Lee Rasmussen and Amanda Ulrich.

After discussion and on roll call vote, the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Chase, Schrieber, Briggs, McGill, Nabb and Robertson

Voting against: none Not voting: none Motion carried (6-0)

Presentation: Vice President Dean Chase presented retiring Board Member, Ron Briggs, with a plaque of appreciation on behalf of everyone at Educational Service Unit 2.

ADJORNNMENT:

Board President adjourned the meeting at 1:59 p.m.

Next Regular Board meeting to be held Monday, May 18, 2015 at 1:00 p.m. at ESU 2, Fremont Nebraska.

Secretary