

Educational Service Unit 2

June 19, 2017 1:00 p.m. FREMONT

MEMBERS	Present	Absent	OTHERS	Present	Absent
VERN GIBSON	\boxtimes		Dr. Ted DeTurk, Administrator	\boxtimes	
DEAN CHASE			Conny Dunn, Treasurer	\boxtimes	
HARLAN SCHRIEBER	\boxtimes		Dee Wasenius, Recording Secretary	\boxtimes	
WAYNE ERICKSON	\boxtimes				
ED RASTOVSKI	\boxtimes				
RICH MCGILL		\boxtimes			
LOUISE NABB	\boxtimes				
GEORGE ROBERTSON	\boxtimes				

A MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATIONAL SERVICE UNIT #2 WAS CONVENED IN OPEN AND PUBLIC SESSION ON MONDAY, JUNE 19, 2017 AT 1:00 P.M. AT THE ESU #2 OFFICE IN FREMONT, NE.

Notice of the meeting was given in advance by publication and/or posting in accordance with the Board approved method for giving notice of meetings. Notice of this meeting was given in advance to all members of the Board of Education. The Secretary of the Board maintains a list of the news media requesting notification of meetings and advance notification to the listed media of the time and place of the meeting and the subjects to be discussed at this meeting was provided. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the publicized notice and a current copy of the Agenda was maintained as stated in the publicized notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

The Board President called the meeting to order at 12:54 p.m.

ANNOUNCEMENT OF OPEN MEETINGS ACT POSTING

At the beginning of this meeting, the acting President announced and informed the public that a current copy of the Open Meetings Act is posted in the Meeting Room

ROLL CALL WAS TAKEN:

CONSENT AGENDA:

It was moved by Robertson and seconded by Rastovski to approve the consent agenda which included: the agenda for the current meeting, minutes of the May 15, 2017 Regular Board Meeting, approve the absence of Rich McGill and accept the Treasurer's Report which included a monthly bank balance, payroll and bills. After discussion and on roll call vote, the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Nabb, Rastovski, Robertson, Gibson, Chase, Schrieber and Erickson

Voting against: None Not Voting: None Motion carried (7-0)

ACTION ITEMS:

MASTER SERVICE AGREEMENT WITH ESUCC: It was moved by Chase and seconded by Erickson that the Board approves the Master Service Agreement with the ESUCC. After discussion and on roll call vote the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Rastovski, Robertson, Gibson, Chase, Schrieber, Erickson and Nabb.

Voting against: none Not voting: none Motion carried (7-0) **PERSONNEL:** It was moved by Erickson and seconded by Schrieber that the Board approved the recommended personnel changes including the hiring of Jen Vogt – Service Coordinator, Brook Zakovec – Administrative Assistant and Steven Hansen - Indy Program Teacher. After discussion and on roll call vote the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Robertson, Gibson, Chase, Schrieber, Erickson, Nabb and Rastovski.

Voting against: none Not voting: none Motion carried (7-0)

INDEPENDENT SCHOOL MEAL PRICES: It was moved by Robertson and seconded by Rastovski that the Board approve 2017-2018 Meal Prices for the Independent School Program. After discussion and on roll call vote the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Gibson, Chase, Schrieber, Erickson, Nabb, Rastovski and Robertson.

Voting against: none Not voting: none Motion carried (7-0)

INFORMATION ITEMS:

Staff Items: Ted gave an overview of the June Superintendent meeting. Members from the NCSA were present. There was a lot of discussion on legislative bills and those being carried over.

Facility/Finance: The ESU has received restitution by the individual who hit our marquee sign.

Professional Development: The SIMPL process has taken off with upcoming meetings and discussions. This is a data driven process to determine collective priority areas in our districts so that they may be better served.

Student Services: Dan Bombeck has spent some time with our staff and is transitioning into his position well.

Digital Learning/P2T: Diane Wolfe and Joe Peitzmeier were in attendance. Diane gave an overview of the ERATE program. She also discussed the E-Library and said there is 40 district members. Joe and Diane also spoke about the progress made with the P2T program, providing handouts on applications and class schedules for the 2017-2018 school year.

Board President adjourned the meeting at 1: 53 p.m.

Next Regular Board meeting to be held Monday, August 14, 2017 at 1:00 p.m. at ESU 2, Fremont Nebraska.

Secretary			