

# **Educational Service Unit 2**

June 29, 2015 1:00 p.m. FREMONT

| MEMBERS          | Present     | Absent | OTHERS                            | Present     | Absent      |
|------------------|-------------|--------|-----------------------------------|-------------|-------------|
| VERN GIBSON      |             |        | Dr. Ted DeTurk, Administrator     | $\boxtimes$ |             |
| DEAN CHASE       | $\boxtimes$ |        | Conny Dunn, Treasurer             | $\boxtimes$ |             |
| HARLAN SCHRIEBER | $\boxtimes$ |        | Dee Wasenius, Recording Secretary |             | $\boxtimes$ |
| WAYNE ERICKSON   | $\boxtimes$ |        |                                   |             |             |
| ED RASTOVSKI     | $\boxtimes$ |        |                                   |             |             |
| RICH MCGILL      | $\boxtimes$ |        |                                   |             |             |
| LOUISE NABB      | $\boxtimes$ |        |                                   |             |             |
| GEORGE ROBERTSON | $\boxtimes$ |        |                                   |             |             |

A MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATIONAL SERVICE UNIT #2 WAS CONVENED IN OPEN AND PUBLIC SESSION ON MONDAY, JUNE 29, 2015 AT 1:00 P.M. AT THE ESU #2 OFFICE IN FREMONT, NE.

Notice of the meeting was given in advance by publication and/or posting in accordance with the Board approved method for giving notice of meetings. Notice of this meeting was given in advance to all members of the Board of Education. The Secretary of the Board maintains a list of the news media requesting notification of meetings and advance notification to the listed media of the time and place of the meeting and the subjects to be discussed at this meeting was provided. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the publicized notice and a current copy of the Agenda was maintained as stated in the publicized notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

The Secretary called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m.

#### ANNOUNCEMENT OF OPEN MEETINGS ACT POSTING

At the beginning of this meeting, the acting President announced and informed the public that a current copy of the Open Meetings Act is posted in the Meeting Room

ROLL CALL WAS TAKEN: Dean Chase was absent for the roll call.

## **CONSENT AGENDA:**

It was moved by McGill and seconded by Rastovski to approve the consent agenda which included: the agenda for the current meeting, minutes of the May 18, 2015 Regular Board Meeting, approves the absence of Vern Gibson and Dean Chase and accept the Treasurer's Report which included a monthly bank balance, payroll and bills for June and July. After discussion and on roll call vote, the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Schrieber, Erickson, McGill, Nabb, Rastovski and Robertson

Voting against: None Not Voting: None Motion carried (6-0)

Dean Chase arrived at 1:01 p.m.

## **ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION ITEMS:**

**Independent School:** We are seeking new contractors for the retaining wall. Two bids have been submitted. We will split the cost with Fremont Public Schools.

#### **ACTION ITEMS:**

## **Three Year Audit Award:**

It was moved by Robertson and seconded by Chase to approve the award of the 3 year audit contract to Shaw, Hull and Navarrette. After discussion and on roll call vote, the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Chase, Schrieber, Erickson, McGill, Nabb, Rastovski and Robertson.

Voting against: none Not voting: none Motion carried (7-0)

#### **Meal Price Increase for Independent School**

It was moved by Erickson and seconded by Nabb to approve the meal price increases for the Independent School Program for the 2015-16 school year:

After discussion and on roll call vote, the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Chase, Schrieber, Erickson, McGill, Nabb, Rastovski and Robertson

Voting against: none Not voting: none Motion carried (7-0)

## ESU 2 Administrator Contract for 2016-17:

It was moved by Robertson and seconded by McGill to approve the 2016-17 Administrator contract renewal.

Voting for: Chase, Schrieber, Erickson, McGill, Nabb, Rastovski and Robertson

Voting against: none Not voting: none Motion carried (7-0)

#### **PERSONNEL:**

It was moved by Robertson and seconded by Rastovski to accept the following personnel changes:

Resignation: Diane Beninato and Kristi Stewart

New Hires: Dr. Kelly Grinnell (PD), Eileen Barks (PD), Dr. Gray Nunnally (PD-part-time), Miriam Tellez-Trujillo (Para), Corey Colvin (Tech Analyst) and Andy Boell (Tech Analyst NNNC).

Voting for: Chase, Schrieber, Erickson, McGill, Nabb, Rastovski and Robertson

Voting against: none Not voting: none Motion carried (7-0)

## **ADJORNNMENT:**

Board President adjourned the meeting at 1:35 p.m.

Next Regular Board meeting to be held Monday, September 14, 2015 at 1:00 p.m. at ESU 2, Fremont Nebraska.

Secretary