Board Minutes	
M	

Educational Service Unit 2

August 17, 2015 1:00 p.m. FREMONT

MEMBERS	Present	Absent	OTHERS	Present	Absent
VERN GIBSON	\boxtimes		Dr. Ted DeTurk, Administrator	\boxtimes	
DEAN CHASE	\boxtimes		Conny Dunn, Treasurer	\boxtimes	
HARLAN SCHRIEBER	\boxtimes		Dee Wasenius, Recording Secretary	\boxtimes	
WAYNE ERICKSON	\boxtimes				
ED RASTOVSKI	\boxtimes				
RICH MCGILL	\boxtimes				
LOUISE NABB	\boxtimes				
GEORGE ROBERTSON	\boxtimes				

A MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATIONAL SERVICE UNIT #2 WAS CONVENED IN OPEN AND PUBLIC SESSION ON MONDAY, AUGUST 17, 2015 AT 1:00 P.M. AT THE ESU #2 OFFICE IN FREMONT, NE.

Notice of the meeting was given in advance by publication and/or posting in accordance with the Board approved method for giving notice of meetings. Notice of this meeting was given in advance to all members of the Board of Education. The Secretary of the Board maintains a list of the news media requesting notification of meetings and advance notification to the listed media of the time and place of the meeting and the subjects to be discussed at this meeting was provided. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the publicized notice and a current copy of the Agenda was maintained as stated in the publicized notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

The Board President called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m.

ANNOUNCEMENT OF OPEN MEETINGS ACT POSTING

At the beginning of this meeting, the acting President announced and informed the public that a current copy of the Open Meetings Act is posted in the Meeting Room

ROLL CALL WAS TAKEN:

CONSENT AGENDA:

It was moved by Chase and seconded by Schrieber to approve the consent agenda which included: the agenda for the current meeting, minutes of the June 29, 2015 Regular Board Meeting and accept the Treasurer's Report which included a monthly bank balance, payroll and bills for July and August. After discussion and on roll call vote, the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Gibson, Chase, Schrieber, Erickson, McGill, Nabb, Rastovski and Robertson Voting against: None Not Voting: None Motion carried (8-0)

ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION ITEMS:

Board Items: NASB will be holding their annual Membership Meeting in Fremont this year on October 14. Harlan Schrieber and Wayne Erickson are planning on attending. The December AESA National Convention in New Orleans was also discussed.

Staff Items: Ted spoke of the New Staff Orientation which was held in July and the All Staff Meeting on August 5th. Both meetings went really well. The negotiation structure was also discussed.

Facility Items: The roof work has been completed and a new company vehicle has been purchased. Repurposing the central copy room is in progress.

Other: Jody Phillips and Kristi Arlt were in attendance and gave a presentation on the overall structure of Student Services for this year. This year will bring more presence from the Student Services Administrative Team to our served schools. Jody also talked about the Independent School enrollment for the current year.

ACTION ITEMS:

Recognize the Staff for Negotiation Purposes: tabled

THE ESUCC MASTER AGREEMENT:

It was moved by McGill and seconded by Nabb to approve to ESUCC Master Agreement: After discussion and on roll call vote, the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Gibson, Chase, Schrieber, Erickson, McGill, Nabb, Rastovski and Robertson Voting against: none Not voting: none Motion carried (8-0)

LOBBYIST FOR ESUCC:

It was moved by Robertson and seconded by Erickson to approve an investment in a lobbyist for the ESUCC. After discussion and on roll call vote, the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Gibson, Chase, Schrieber, Erickson, McGill, Nabb, Rastovski and Robertson Voting against: none Not voting: none Motion carried (8-0)

VENDOR CONTRACT FOR REVISION GRANT:

It was moved by Erickson and seconded by McGill to approve a vendor contract with Janata Consulting for the ReVision Grant. After discussion and on roll call vote, the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Gibson, Chase, Schrieber, Erickson, McGill, Nabb, Rastovski and Robertson Voting against: none Not voting: none Motion carried (8-0)

POLICIES:

It was moved by McGill and seconded by Rastovski to approve Policy 4320. After discussion and on roll call vote the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Gibson, Chase, Schrieber, Erickson, McGill, Nabb, Rastovski and Robertson Voting against: none Not voting: none Motion carried (8-0)

PERSONNEL:

It was moved by Robertson and seconded by Chase to approve the following personnel changes: New hires; Sarah Cooper (SLP), Jonne Brown (Para), Dixie Trevarthen (assistive tech-grant funded), Jacqueline Knobbe (guidance teacher/para). After discussion and on roll call vote, the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Gibson, Chase, Schrieber, Erickson, McGill, Nabb, Rastovski and Robertson Voting against: none Not voting: none Motion carried (8-0)

ADJORNNMENT:

Board President adjourned the meeting at 1:53 p.m.

Next Regular Board meeting to be held Monday, September 14, 2015 at 1:00 p.m. at ESU 2, Fremont Nebraska.

Secretary