Board Minutes	;
N	

Educational Service Unit 2

January 24, 2017 1:00 p.m. FREMONT

MEMBERS	Present	Absent	OTHERS	Present	Absent
VERN GIBSON		\boxtimes	Dr. Ted DeTurk, Administrator	\bowtie	
DEAN CHASE	\boxtimes		Conny Dunn, Treasurer	\boxtimes	
HARLAN SCHRIEBER	\boxtimes		Dee Wasenius, Recording Secretary	\boxtimes	
WAYNE ERICKSON	\boxtimes				
ED RASTOVSKI	\boxtimes				
RICH MCGILL	\boxtimes				
LOUISE NABB	\boxtimes				
GEORGE ROBERTSON	\boxtimes				

A MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATIONAL SERVICE UNIT #2 WAS CONVENED IN OPEN AND PUBLIC SESSION ON TUESDAY, JANUARY 24, 2017 AT 1:00 P.M. AT THE ESU #2 OFFICE IN FREMONT, NE.

Notice of the meeting was given in advance by publication and/or posting in accordance with the Board approved method for giving notice of meetings. Notice of this meeting was given in advance to all members of the Board of Education. The Secretary of the Board maintains a list of the news media requesting notification of meetings and advance notification to the listed media of the time and place of the meeting and the subjects to be discussed at this meeting was provided. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the publicized notice and a current copy of the Agenda was maintained as stated in the publicized notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

The Board Vice President called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m.

ANNOUNCEMENT OF OPEN MEETINGS ACT POSTING

At the beginning of this meeting, the acting President announced and informed the public that a current copy of the Open Meetings Act is posted in the Meeting Room

ROLL CALL WAS TAKEN:

CONSENT AGENDA:

It was moved by Robertson and seconded by Erickson to approve the consent agenda which included: the agenda for the current meeting, minutes of the December 19, 2016 Regular Board Meeting, approve the absence of Vern Gibson and Ed Rastovski and accept the Treasurer's Report which included a monthly bank balance, payroll and bills. After discussion and on roll call vote, the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Chase, Schrieber, Erickson, McGill, Nabb and Robertson Voting against: None Not Voting: None Motion carried (6-0)

Ed Rastovski arrived at 1:02 p.m.

PRESENTATION:

Diane Wolfe, Joe Peitzmeier, Mary Janata and Shara Johnson presented on the Pathways 2 Tomorrow program which included information on the Joint Public Agency. Program offerings will be in the Health Sciences and Computer Science pathways.

ACTION ITEMS:

PARTICIPATION IN THE PATHWAYS 2 TOMORROW – JOINT PUBLIC AGENCY: It was moved by McGill and seconded by Nabb that the Board approve the participation in the Pathways 2 Tomorrow – Joint Public Agency. After discussion and on roll call vote the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Chase, Schrieber, Erickson, McGill, Nabb, Rastovski and Robertson Voting against: none Not voting: none Motion carried (7-0)

ESU 2 BOARD OFFICERS: It was moved by Robertson and seconded by Rastovski that the Board approve retaining the same officers as in the past. Vern Gibson – President, Dean Chase – Vice President and Harlan Schrieber - Secretary. After discussion and on roll call vote the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Schrieber, Erickson, McGill, Nabb, Rastovski, Robertson and Chase Voting against: none Not voting: none Motion carried (7-0)

PERSONNEL: It was moved by McGill and seconded by Schrieber that the Board approve the recommendation of adding a new Part-Time School Psychologist. After discussion and on roll call vote the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Erickson, McGill, Nabb, Rastovski, Robertson, Chase and Schrieber Voting against: none Not voting: none Motion carried (7-0)

ADJORNNMENT:

Board Vice President adjourned the meeting at 2:08 p.m.

Next Regular Board meeting to be held Monday, February 20, 2017 at 1:00 p.m. at ESU 2, Fremont Nebraska.

Secretary