Board Minutes	)
Minure	

# **Educational Service Unit 2**

April 10, 2017 1:00 p.m. FREMONT

MEMBERS	Present	Absent	OTHERS	Present	Absent
VERN GIBSON	$\boxtimes$		Dr. Ted DeTurk, Administrator	$\boxtimes$	
DEAN CHASE	$\boxtimes$		Conny Dunn, Treasurer	$\boxtimes$	
HARLAN SCHRIEBER		$\boxtimes$	Dee Wasenius, Recording Secretary	$\boxtimes$	
WAYNE ERICKSON	$\boxtimes$				
ED RASTOVSKI	$\boxtimes$				
RICH MCGILL	$\boxtimes$				
LOUISE NABB	$\boxtimes$				
GEORGE ROBERTSON	$\boxtimes$				

A MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATIONAL SERVICE UNIT #2 WAS CONVENED IN OPEN AND PUBLIC SESSION ON MONDAY, APRIL 10, 2017 AT 1:00 P.M. AT THE ESU #2 OFFICE IN FREMONT, NE.

Notice of the meeting was given in advance by publication and/or posting in accordance with the Board approved method for giving notice of meetings. Notice of this meeting was given in advance to all members of the Board of Education. The Secretary of the Board maintains a list of the news media requesting notification of meetings and advance notification to the listed media of the time and place of the meeting and the subjects to be discussed at this meeting was provided. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the publicized notice and a current copy of the Agenda was maintained as stated in the publicized notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

The Board President called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m.

### ANNOUNCEMENT OF OPEN MEETINGS ACT POSTING

At the beginning of this meeting, the acting President announced and informed the public that a current copy of the Open Meetings Act is posted in the Meeting Room

## ROLL CALL WAS TAKEN:

### **CONSENT AGENDA:**

It was moved by Erickson and seconded by Chase to approve the consent agenda which included: the agenda for the current meeting, minutes of the March 20, 2017 Regular Board Meeting, approve the absence of Harlan Schrieber and accept the Treasurer's Report which included a monthly bank balance, payroll and bills. After discussion and on roll call vote, the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Chase, Erickson, McGill, Nabb, Rastovski, Robertson and Gibson Voting against: None Not Voting: None Motion carried (7-0)

### ACTION ITEMS:

**PERSONNEL:** It was moved by Robertson and seconded by Rastovski that the Board approves the hiring of Samantha Bayer as a School Psych and Dale Mundil as a P2T teacher. After discussion and on roll call vote the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Erickson, McGill, Nabb, Rastovski, Robertson, Gibson and Chase Voting against: none Not voting: none Motion carried (7-0)

### **INFORMATION ITEMS:**

P2T: Ted gave an overview of the first JPA board meeting which was held in Beemer on March 21<sup>st</sup>. Joe Peitzmeier was named executive director of P2T. Joe and Diane Wolfe met with P2T superintendents and also met with NECC on March 23.

Student Services: SS hosted and facilitated a Routines Based Interview (RBI) training on March 28 & 29. The training and attendance was outstanding.

Technology: The new circuit is installed and is now active. With this in place we will not ever lose complete internet connectivity. All emails have now been transitioned away from Zimbra.

Digital Learning: Holocaust Survivor presentation was held in Wahoo on March 29<sup>th</sup>. Over 1,100 students were in the live audience from several districts.

Professional Development: PD has four presentations at the AQuESTT conference this month. Kelly Georgious and Jodie Sams are presenting on Targeted Improvement Plans. Eileen Barks and Caryn Ziettlow are giving a presentation on the Mentoring Program. Andy Boell presents on Single Sign On and Joe Peitzmeier and Shara Johnson are presenting on the P2T project.

Corey Colvin was present and gave an overview to the Board on how to access their emails via Office 365 and explained how single sign on works.

Board President adjourned the meeting at 1:35 p.m.

Next Regular Board meeting to be held Monday, May 15, 2017 at 1:00 p.m. at ESU 2, Fremont Nebraska.

Secretary