

Educational Service Unit 2

March 21, 2016 1:00 p.m. FREMONT

MEMBERS	Present	Absent	OTHERS	Present	Absent
VERN GIBSON	\boxtimes		Dr. Ted DeTurk, Administrator	\boxtimes	
DEAN CHASE	\boxtimes		Conny Dunn, Treasurer	\boxtimes	
HARLAN SCHRIEBER	\boxtimes		Dee Wasenius, Recording Secretary	\boxtimes	
WAYNE ERICKSON	\boxtimes				
ED RASTOVSKI	\boxtimes				
RICH MCGILL	\boxtimes				
LOUISE NABB	\boxtimes				
GEORGE ROBERTSON	\boxtimes				

A MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATIONAL SERVICE UNIT #2 WAS CONVENED IN OPEN AND PUBLIC SESSION ON MONDAY, MARCH 21, 2016 AT 1:00 P.M. AT THE ESU #2 OFFICE IN FREMONT, NE.

Notice of the meeting was given in advance by publication and/or posting in accordance with the Board approved method for giving notice of meetings. Notice of this meeting was given in advance to all members of the Board of Education. The Secretary of the Board maintains a list of the news media requesting notification of meetings and advance notification to the listed media of the time and place of the meeting and the subjects to be discussed at this meeting was provided. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the publicized notice and a current copy of the Agenda was maintained as stated in the publicized notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

The Board President called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m.

ANNOUNCEMENT OF OPEN MEETINGS ACT POSTING

At the beginning of this meeting, the acting President announced and informed the public that a current copy of the Open Meetings Act is posted in the Meeting Room

ROLL CALL WAS TAKEN:

Rich McGill joined the meeting at 1:04 p.m.

CONSENT AGENDA:

It was moved by Chase and seconded by Schrieber to approve the consent agenda which included: the agenda for the current meeting, minutes of the February 15, 2016 Regular Board Meeting and accept the Treasurer's Report which included a monthly bank balance, payroll and bills. After discussion and on roll call vote, the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Gibson, Chase, Schrieber, Erickson, McGill, Nabb, Rastovski and Robertson

Voting against: None Not Voting: None Motion carried (8-0)

ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION ITEMS:

STAFF ITEMS:

PD: Members of the PD team present were, Caryn Ziettlow, Kelly Grinnell, Eileen Barks, and Cecilia Neiman. Caryn gave an overview of what her "Avenger Team" had been working on since she last gave a presentation to the Board. Information included NDE NESA Data sharing. Superintendents and Principals had been surveyed as to where PD training should be focused. Caryn also spoke of the various instructional models used in our districts.

ACTION ITEMS:

BOARD POLICIES:

It was moved by Robertson and seconded by Schrieber to approve policies 4510, 6400, 6410, 6500 and 6510. After discussion and on roll call vote the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Chase, Schrieber, Erickson, McGill, Nabb, Rastovski, Robertson and Gibson

Voting against: none Not voting: none Motion carried (8-0)

PERSONNEL:

It was moved by Erickson and seconded by Rastovski to approve the recommended personnel changes which consists of hiring Cecilia Neiman PD, Kaisha Higenkamp as a SLP, Jill Johnson as a TVI and Michelle Knapp as a Migrant Coordinator. Also to accept the resignations of Stacey Pawling, Alyssa Fox and Beth Klootwyk. After discussion and on roll call vote the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Schrieber, Erickson, McGill, Nabb, Rastovski, Robertson, Gibson and Chase

Voting against: none Not voting: none Motion carried (8-0)

CALENDARS: It was moved by McGill and seconded by Erickson to approve the ESU 2 calendar for 2016-17 and 2017-18. After discussion and on roll call vote the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Erickson, McGill, Nabb, Rastovski, Robertson, Gibson, Chase and Schrieber

Voting against: none Not voting: none Motion carried (8-0)

TECHNICAL UPDATES: It was moved by Robertson and seconded by Nabb to approve the Bones Conference Room and Board Room technical updates. After discussion and on roll call vote the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: McGill, Nabb, Rastovski, Robertson, Gibson, Chase, Schrieber and Erickson

Voting against: none Not voting: none Motion carried (8-0)

PHONE SYSTEM: It was moved by McGill and seconded by Rastovski to approve the phone system replacement purchase. After discussion and on roll call vote the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Nabb, Rastovski, Robertson, Gibson, Chase, Schrieber, Erickson and McGill

Voting against: none Not voting: none Motion carried (8-0)

SALARY: It was moved by Chase and seconded by Robertson to approve the salary increase for employees not covered by the negotiated agreement. After discussion and on roll call vote the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Rastovski, Robertson, Gibson, Chase, Schrieber, Erickson, McGill and Nabb

Voting against: none Not voting: none Motion carried (8-0)

ADMINISTRATIVE NOTES:

Ted gave a brief overview of the Loan Forgiveness Program.

The State Audit was discussed and the breakdown of state core services funds.

Ted also spoke of the great significance of hosting speakers such as Temple Grandin and Karen Haase.

ADJORNNMENT:

Board President adjourned the meeting at 1:52 p.m.

Next Regular Board meeting to be held Monday, March 21, 2016 at 1:00 p.m. at ESU 2, Fremont Nebraska.

Secretary