

Educational Service Unit 2

May 16, 2016 1:00 p.m. FREMONT

MEMBERS	Present	Absent	OTHERS	Present	Absent
VERN GIBSON	\boxtimes		Dr. Ted DeTurk, Administrator	\boxtimes	
DEAN CHASE	\boxtimes		Conny Dunn, Treasurer		
HARLAN SCHRIEBER	\boxtimes		Dee Wasenius, Recording Secretary	\boxtimes	
WAYNE ERICKSON	\boxtimes				
ED RASTOVSKI	\boxtimes				
RICH MCGILL	\boxtimes				
LOUISE NABB	\boxtimes				
GEORGE ROBERTSON	\boxtimes				

A MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATIONAL SERVICE UNIT #2 WAS CONVENED IN OPEN AND PUBLIC SESSION ON MONDAY, MAY 16, 2016 AT 1:00 P.M. AT THE ESU #2 OFFICE IN FREMONT, NE.

Notice of the meeting was given in advance by publication and/or posting in accordance with the Board approved method for giving notice of meetings. Notice of this meeting was given in advance to all members of the Board of Education. The Secretary of the Board maintains a list of the news media requesting notification of meetings and advance notification to the listed media of the time and place of the meeting and the subjects to be discussed at this meeting was provided. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the publicized notice and a current copy of the Agenda was maintained as stated in the publicized notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

The Board President called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m.

ANNOUNCEMENT OF OPEN MEETINGS ACT POSTING

At the beginning of this meeting, the acting President announced and informed the public that a current copy of the Open Meetings Act is posted in the Meeting Room

ROLL CALL WAS TAKEN:

CONSENT AGENDA:

It was moved by Chase and seconded by Robertson to approve the consent agenda which included: the agenda for the current meeting, minutes of the April 18, 2016 Regular Board Meeting and accept the Treasurer's Report which included a monthly bank balance, payroll and bills. After discussion roll call vote was as follows:

Voting for: Schrieber, Erickson, McGill, Nabb, Rastovski, Robertson, Gibson and Chase

Voting against: None Not Voting: None Motion carried (8-0)

ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION ITEMS:

Board Items: Ted discussed the NESUBA meeting which was held May 3rd in Kearney at which time they had decided not to dissolve. The group will have their annual meeting during the NASB conference in the fall. The ESU 2 information cards have been completed and were passed out to all board members. The AESA National Conference is in Savannah GA from Nov 30-Dec 2, 2016. Ted extended an open invitation to all board members. The NASB will be holding workshops in Fremont on August 4.

Staff Items: The all staff meeting was held on May 13th and featured speakers Rachel Wise, State BOE President and Sue Anderson, NDE AQUESTT specialist. The day also included team building activities and concluded with a retirement celebration for Diane Hammer and Sandi Landholm.

Other: There was a special Superintendent meeting to discuss Program of Services. Their next meeting will be June 1st at which time the Principals are also asked to attend.

Special Projects: The All Minds Matter Conference has been finalized for February 28, 2017. Keynote speaker will be Liz Murry.

ACTION ITEMS:

INDEPENDENT PROGRAM HANDBOOK:

It was moved by Robertson and seconded by Erickson to approve the Independent Program Handbook including updates. After discussion and on roll call vote the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Erickson, McGill, Nabb, Rastovski, Robertson, Gibson, Chase and Schrieber.

Voting against: none Not voting: none Motion carried (8-0)

MASTER SERVICE AGREEMENT:

It was moved by Rastovski and seconded by Schrieber to approve the Master Service Agreement with the ESUCC. After discussion and on roll call vote the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: McGill, Nabb, Rastovski, Robertson, Gibson, Chase, Schrieber and Erickson.

Voting against: none Not voting: none Motion carried (8-0)

POLICIES:

It was moved by Robertson and seconded by Erickson to approve policy 6710. After discussion and on roll call vote the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Nabb, Rastovski, Robertson, Gibson, Chase, Schrieber, Erickson and McGill.

Voting against: none Not voting: none Motion carried (8-0)

PERSONNEL:

It was moved by Erickson and seconded by Schrieber to approve the recommended personnel changes which consists of hiring Michael Feit/Independent Program Teacher, Shara Johnson/CANVAS Instructor and Lorie Koll/SLP. After discussion and on roll call vote the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Rastovski, Robertson, Gibson, Chase, Schrieber, Erickson, McGill and Nabb.

Voting against: none Not voting: none Motion carried (8-0)

ADJORNNMENT:

Board President adjourned the meeting at 1:30 p.m.

Next Regular Board meeting to be held Monday, June 20, 2016 at 1:00 p.m. at ESU 2, Fremont Nebraska.

Secretary